Prof. Maurizio Galimberti won the George Stafford Whitby Award for distinguished Teaching and Research

This award perpetuates the memory of George S. Whitby, head of the rubber laboratory at The University of Akron and for years the only individual who taught rubber chemistry in the USA, by honoring outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science and recognizing innovative research.
   This award was established by Rubber Division, ACS in 1986 as a part of its continuing effort to honor teachers and academic scientists for distinguished innovative and inspirational teaching and research in chemistry and polymer science.
   The recipient shall have made outstanding contributions to chemical and/or polymer science education or research, including the training of professional rubber or polymer chemists: the dissemination of reliable information about chemistry to prospective chemists, to members of the profession, to students in other fields, and to the general public; and the integration of chemistry and polymer science into our educational system. 
   In past years this award was assigned to 
Alan Gent, Leo Mandelkern, James Mark, Jean Baptiste Donnet,  Joseph Kennedy, Gary Hamed, Roderick Quirk and James McGrath.